The journey to enlightenment might start with a flowchart...

Know anyone that rocks their business world and looks like crap? How can that be? The way you do one thing is the way you do everything right?  There are designers out there making great art and leaving themselves in the wake.

The popular design process (where do all those post-it notes go to die?) is simply a process to break down an idea and put it into actionable portions. It’s effective because it’s visual and simple and gives the observer the feeling of an overview which gives a beginning and an end so we can feel life is linear and progressive and achievable. Our brain receives this kind of information well to motivate us to action.

Enter Patanjali’s Ashtanga Yoga (8 limbs of yoga), the yogi himself writes a very clear step by step process to enlightenment.

It looks like the following -

  1. YAMA - Restraints, moral disciplines or moral vows.

  2. NIYAMA - Positive duties or observances.

  3. ASANA - Posture.

  4. PRANAYAMA - Breathing techniques.

  5. PRATYAHARA - Sense withdrawal.

  6. DHARANA - Focused concentration.

  7. DHYANA - Meditative absorption.

  8. SAMADHI - Bliss or enlightenment.

Using the same design process thinking, you can set yourself free.

SOCIALSandra RadjaComment